Happy Hour


Lucky in luck
January 19, 2008, 10:09 am
Filed under: Daily Specials | Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Last night’s drink: Vendange merlot.

You can tell by the steady decline in the quality of my alcohol that I’m still recovering from the financial blows of the holidays. That, and Wells Fargo is a business based on the highest grade of assholes alive. Don’t ever use them. EVER.

Despite having a only a few Washingtons to my name, I’m finding that I already have a lot to keep me occupied until the payday after rent. Thanks to my insider connection with a coffee roaster, I have at least a three-month supply of delicious coffee, which makes me feel better no matter what. I also have a lot of food in my fridge, thanks to the sustaining properties of peanut butter and jelly. I have makeup, nice clothes, and a flat iron, which help me to garner mood-lifiting compliments. I can clean my apartment, and cleanliness is next to godliness. I have full use of my legs, so I can walk to anywhere downtown, in Balboa Park, or bayside, where people watching is at a premium. I have paid my phone, internet and cable bills, so that’s set for a month. I am engulfed in a book that I love, which is the height of satisfaction. But mostly, I just have coffee. Without coffee, I wouldn’t be in the mood to appreciate everything else. Now I just need a friend in the wine business.

I started school at the beginning of this month, so I’ve been writing a lot, just not in here. Jenn said that she missed my blog, and I really appreciate that. The funny thing is that I’m still getting a lot of hits – mostly from people googling the term “crossdresser” (in reference to my “Pink Swoon” post from October). There are some pretty interesting blogs out there from crossdressers. Some of those might even be just as entertaining without coffee.

Going back to school has renewed my outlook on life, and on myself. I feel accomplished again, and intelligent, and that I truly do have talents and contributions to make to the world. I can overlook the assholes at work, and recognize that they don’t mean anything to me. The light at the end of my current job is not much farther away than the end of December – or June, if I decide to scrap it all and start waiting tables again. Even with the decrease in pay, I have a feeling I’d be happier overall. I’d definitely have more to write about.

In the meantime, though, I’ll keep looking for satisfaction in free activities, such as walking into the nearest Wells Fargo branch and flipping off the personal bankers, one by one.

I mean… watching the birds. With coffee.


2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Plus you have me. I’m way better than coffee and wine combined.

What happened with Wells Fargo? I learned my lesson to avoid them at 16 when I started to notice random and frequent account maintenance fees. I had like $200 to my name, but they still wanted to take as much of that as they could :).

Comment by Jenn

I really think you should give a shot at writing a book. Your posts are always funny and well put together. Maybe you can do something with the whole people watching thing…I know I loved it while working in NYC.
But before you quit your job and buy a 1939 Underwood, keep these facts in mind about the advice giver:
1) I’m no stranger to 8 day beer benders.
2) When on these benders I eat dry Cheerios out of a cup like a 4 year old.
3) Along with the little round snack I also add Xanax and Ibuprofen.
So, needless to say, this just a suggestion. 🙂

Comment by David




Leave a comment